Memories

my t5i and t6s

 I read an article today about the important mistakes that all photographers make. 2 of them stuck out to me like a big sore thumb. I will touch on one for now. 

The author of the article had listed several mistakes on the list that I believe everyone who has picked up a camera has made. 1 of them: being a gear head. Blaming the gear for whether or not a shot turned out the way it was supposed to. I have watched tons of videos on YouTube and let me tell you, it is very easy to get caught up in talk of new gear and everyone’s personal opinions of what camera, make and model do what. In the end, that camera is an inanimate object that serves no purpose unless it is being used for the purpose it was created. It cannot get up, turn itself on and take gorgeous photos on its own. Most of what I’ve taken from watching those gear obsessed videos on YouTube is that they are a matter of opinion laced with fact. 

I have been shooting with Canon cameras ever since high-school. I had a Canon Powershot with a broken battery door that I had duct taped together. I took pride in what I could do with that little camera. So the idea of it being ‘raggedy’ never really crossed my mind until it finally stopped working. It was my 2nd camera owned outside of photo class in school. I was all about taking photos, sky shots, beautiful sunsets, landscape, and so on. And that little camera, was perfect… until I discovered what the hell a Dslr could do. 

My first Dslr was a Nikon D3000 that I obtained from a local pawnshop. I liked it, but I didn’t love it. It may have very well have been that particular body which is why it was in a pain shop to begin with. But I wasn’t a fan. I kept for over a year and learned to work with it. The kit lens it came with was frigging terrible too. 

Fast forward past the awkward first year of learning about Dslr bodies and lenses. I purchased my first Canon (T5i) from a Sam’s club on special. Happiest moment of that year. I couldn’t wait to get it home and try it out and compare it. To me, it was 100 times better. 

Looking back, I think it was more of a comfortability thing. The Nikon was an awkward camera (for me). Along with the fact that it had no option to switch to video mode… it wasn’t a good fit for me. 

I have since shot with my Canon t5i. At first, after watching the tons of viewpoints on YouTube, I started to think that maybe I hadn’t picked the right camera… because it was considered ‘entry level’. 

I was comfortable but had doubts…again. I have since learned to look through YouTube videos with nothing but pure interest and education on how to use the gear that I have. I purchased a 2nd body (t6s) and am still very fond of my t5i. I actually use the t5i more than the t6s. 

I guess the point I’m making is to just be comfortable in your decisions. Buy what suits you best and don’t worry about what others think. You will know if it is personally time for you to upgrade or not. And learn your camera’s ins and outs. YouTube is a great place full of information. However, it can be a bit much too. For every bit of good information, there’s some that isn’t so good.

Peace. 

One thought on “Memories

Leave a comment